Tuesdays of Texture | Week 48 of 2016

Tuesdays of Texture is a really awesome weekly feature.  You can read about it over here; but the short version is I want to see a bit of your world so link up your post in the comments!

sofrito

That is my sofrito.  I started making my own when I moved back home and to my surprise (but mostly to my grandma’s surprise) I make a mean sofrito.  It’s freaking delicious.  In case you ever want to try to make your own, I use:

Edited to detail the recipe, to approximate amounts (you can’t mess up a sofrito, add more or less of the ingredients you like more or less):

six onions, a pound of peppers (green and red – I use canned red peppers if I can’t find them fresh), a pack of sweet small peppers, 2 packs of fresh cilantro (less than half a pound), 2 packs of culantro (less that half a pound), six garlic heads, six to eight leaves of oregano (wild and any other I find).  I do enough to fill a big pot with one bag of onions because it unfreezes perfectly and I use it almost everyday.

This is what we add to yellow rice (rice mixed with any meat or vegetables), practically all our meats and all our soups.  During December this is the smell in every Puerto Rican house.

Please go check out last week’s awesome participations and THANK YOU!  Everyone that shared their posts, you guys make Tuesdays of Texture a joy.

Have a beautiful day and remember to share a bit of it with me!

28 thoughts on “Tuesdays of Texture | Week 48 of 2016

  1. jesh stg says:

    For us foreigners, could you please give us a recipe for the right amounts of the sofrito? It sounds delicious. And how many big onions is “a bag of onions”? Also I don’t know what culantro is, or is it cilantro?Then, what makes,the yellow rice (what makes the rice yellow – is it curry, or saffron, or something else?)
    Here my texture for this week: the rocks in Utah. Have a lovely week!
    :https://artworksfromjeshstg.wordpress.com/2016/11/22/thanks-danke-dank-u-wel-merci/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marilyn Armstrong says:

    That’s really interesting. I don’t know if I can find exactly those ingredients around here, but I think I could substitute some things for other things. It reminds me of a similar mix my West Indian mother-in-law made that was used to mix with meat for meat pies. Very similar, but more hot pepper, less herbs and spices. Thanks!!

    Like

    • narami says:

      I don’t add water, or any other liquid; it does fine intm the food processor (using a blender might need some water). We cook it from 5 to 10 mins – I think that’s about quantity – when the aroma stars to get awesome and all flavors are incorporated. Wait until it’s room temp and freeze or fridge. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

