Dancing Mondays: All I Ask, Covered by Bruno Mars Edition

I don’t need to deny this so I’ll just come out with both hands in front of me as a sign of my sincerity and say:  I’m having a Bruno Mars phase.  And it seems to be rather deep.

I mean, I had a tiny Drake phase a few months back, but now that it’s behind and this has happened, I can see it was meaningless.  It probably had more to do with the summer transition that anything else and it only lasted like, a week.

It started the night I tweeted this:

I fell in love during the five minutes of that performance and have watched that every night since then.

And then I went on a youtube spiral of every interview he’s ever given (not that I had never followed him or his music before) and soon felt like, that man is so beautiful.   I mean, he is an “all for the music” type of guy – very a la Prince style – where he never talks politics or his personal life,  and admits that he’s always thinking about work;  but somehow you can see his genuine soul, his joy in making others happy, his humbleness right there.

And then, he happens to be an amazing music maker.  That song, All I Ask is Adele’s BUT;  guess who wrote it?  Yep.  Pedro himself. (I affectionately call him Pedro because his name is Peter.)  Here’s a video where he talks about what it was like to write that song for Adele:

My favorite lyric of that song is “Take me by the hand while we do what lovers do” and in his latests Rolling Stone’s interview he mentioned something that surprised me a lot:  he said he didn’t like the word lovers and asked Adele to reconsider it.  Of course Adele was “very gangster” about it and insisted that it was perfect.  He later realised – as did any other human that heard that song – that it is the grand word that makes the song perfection and goes to point out he even “looks forward to singing it”.  Isn’t that crazy?  That is the one line that makes it a master piece!  Yet it was questioned by the very master behind it.

Anyway, all his music feels comforting lately.  I go through this stages fairly often, though mostly I go through genre phases rather than a specific artist.   I’ve had phases with Marc Anthony, Michael Jackson, Elvis, Etta James, Guns N’ Roses, Bob Marley to name a few.  The only thing I think they have in common is that, in their own way, they all have music for every mood.

Dear Pedro certainly has that in buckets so, I think I’m gonna be basking in his musical journey for a while.  And there’s also the fact that his dancing:

Since I’m being honest and this is DANCING Mondays. (The naughty happens after minute 3:10 if you want to get to work the middle, pun intended.)

Edited to add : this happened yesterday ;

He slayes. Case close.

Have a joyful day!

One thought on “Dancing Mondays: All I Ask, Covered by Bruno Mars Edition

  1. prior.. says:

    just heard a bruno song on my drive home (before this post) and was remembering that he was so awesome at the Super Bowl a while back – and he is so gifted. i can see why this phase is happening… he jams…
    have a nice day N

    Like

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

