Walk forth and your road will follow

My paternal family lives in one of the highest towns of the island so, when I was child we would visit several times during the year.

I had this thing where I believed that whenever the road went up – because of a mountain – it would leave the ground (cartoon-like) and raise independently and I would be able to see the ground below if I could just look out far enough from the window. So, every time I felt the car climbing a mountain I would stick my face unto the window hoping this time I would be able to see the ground below the road.  

I was always so disappointed when I could see the ground beside the road.  

The other day I was driving and I was reflecting on everything that has happened the past weeks, all the ways my life has changed, how I’ve changed; and I felt this longing to know where the road was taking me, or at least which road I was on.
 
And I had this moment where I thought, you know what? It doesn’t matter because, while we always have that feeling that we pick a road and we travel through it, the truth is: the road follows you. We put our feet out and the road is made beneath them. We are building the road we journey on while we live.

 
There’s a song in spanish that says “caminante no hay camino, se hace camino al andar” which translates to “walker there is no road, the road is made when you walk”.

 I finally understood what it means.  

We get so anxious to always know where the path it’s leading and it’s us leading the path all the while.  

come on road, I’ll make you mountains

do not fear road, I’ll swerve you right

follow me road, follow me

because I don’t know where I’m going

and not knowing makes me lead you right

It’s ok.  
What have you done to regain your way when you’ve felt lost?

10 thoughts on “Walk forth and your road will follow

  1. 76sanfermo says:

    Los latinos decían ” tabula rasa”…
    Borrar todo , y volver a empezar.
    Pero si nuestras propias experiencias tendrían que ayudarnos , por que’ borrarlas?
    Yo pienso que la honestad en reconocer nuestros errores pasados sea lo que necesitamos para seguir adelante….

    Liked by 1 person

    • narami says:

      Tabula rasa… lienzo limpio, pagina nueva. Esa parte me gusta! Porque se puede concentrar el concepto en tener camino limpio para hacer nuevo y puede uno olvidarse de borrar lo anterior. De todos modos, quien camina mirando hacia atras?

      Like

  2. Prior-2001 says:

    I like your song even tho I did not understand / but culture rich!

    And I think what helps me on any path is just to remember God is fully in control – and how even with “free will” he still knows the future and our day of death and all that –
    And about ten years ago this old proverb became clear to me-
    And it ties into what you quoted about the “road is made when you walk” and how you got it ! 😉
    Which – by the way – It is such a good lyric ! So true

    But the proverb that I finally “got” related to proverb that says “people plans their path, but the lord directs the steps”
    And to me – it became clear that God directs and redirects our path – detours are God appointments – pauses are for our good – and even hard trials have much value for the overall picture – hmmmm
    Thanks for a nice post and cool song this morning !

    Liked by 1 person

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

