No color door

Cold doors are doors are doors too. #ThursdayDoors #green #gray

A post shared by @naramilee on

Is there anything colder than a gray door?

Gray doors make me think of a cold room where no one says hi. A room where no dreams are allowed. Or ever worst, a room where dreams are welcomed, only to be slaughtered inside. Just looking at them makes me think I don’t want to touch them or be close to them, and of course, never open them.

But the thing is; one never knows what’s behind the door. It could be hideous. It could diminish every idea you have. Make you re-think your sense of humor. Destroy your sense of self. It could make you feel alone and unwanted. Hated even.

Or it could be awesome. It could make you grow. And  learn. It could help you be better and happier. 

So, you choose. The same door could do both things.

Shared on Thursday Doors.

12 thoughts on “No color door

  1. circadianreflections says:

    It reminds me of my second job. When I was just 19 yrs old I worked in the kitchen of an old folks home (convalescent home). I made sandwiches, and desserts from scratch. Like a chef. I had to go into the big walk in refrigerator and freezer quite often. Both were BIG Stainless Steel doors that you didn’t dare let close behind you! There was a safety feature to get out, but still I hated the thought of those doors closing on me!
    But, on days the ovens were going full on and the kitchen was hot there was no better place to be than the Refrigerator! 🙂

    Thanks for this post and triggering those memories. They came right up as if you ordered them! Long term memory is an amazing thing, and it’s why I love photography so much; a simple image can trigger so many memories, and smells!
    I hadn’t thought of the Refrigerators, or Freezers at that job in many decades!
    I got fat there. Desserts. I had to taste it before sending it out. 🙂 I stayed there for 2 yrs.
    It would be a couple of decades before I lost all the weight and bad food habits I had developed in my younger years.

    FWIW: I have a Stainless Steel Refrigerator today! I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • narami says:

      Well, I’m so glad you enjoyed this! I used to work in the pharmaceutical industry and freezers and coolers were very much hated :-). I can’t see how that type of eating would help old people, but it sounds like the food was delightful. Thanks for coming by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • circadianreflections says:

        Fortunately, not everyone in the home had to be on a limited/restricted diet. I was so happy that while the calories were counted for everyone those that could eat an unrestricted diet had full fat and favorable food choices, and even those on restricted diets got dessert. Sugar free but, they got dessert.

        I made two kinds of jello, puddings, cakes, cobblers, ice cream and sandwiches. One for the regular diets, and one for the diabetic/restricted diets everyday.

        If the day comes that I have to be in a home I hope they have good food for me like we prepared for our clients. Food is a very powerful psychological thing. When it’s good it can help heal. Think Chicken soup, and ice cream! Just sayin’! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

