Tuesdays of Texture | Week 50 of 2015

Welcome to Tuesdays of Texture! You can read more about it over here, but the short version is I want to see a little bit of your world, share your post in the comments!


 

I’m going to share a texture that is close to my heart.

This is Doña Fela.

Doña Fela Rincon de Gautier

Doña Fela is one of the most important figures in the history of Puerto Rico.  As a female, she was the first woman to be the mayor of the island’s capital and did A LOT of important projects that still go on in Old San Juan.

Actually, have you heard of the Head Start programs?  She was the one who built the program here and when John Kennedy visited Puerto Rico in 1961 he took the model to the states and named it Head Start.  Head Start was invented by a puerto rican woman, just so you know.

For most puerto ricans she was the mayor who bought snow to San Juan.  I’ve heard a lot of people dismiss this as a stupid act, but most of these people have no idea of the context in which she did it.  She wanted poor kids to have an experience that they would never have otherwise.  She also wanted to open their eyes to how big the world in showing them how climate works.  In any case I always think of that as one of the nicest things a mayor has ever done here.  Not the biggest or the most important, but one of the nicest things.

How is any of this close to my heart?

I used to wave hi to Doña Fela almost daily when I was a kid.

I grew up close to the beach where she had her beach house and every morning when I walked the shore she would be in her balcony, sitting in her wheelchair.  I remember her wig and her sunglasses and she always had red lipstick on.  And whenever I walked by she would graciously bow her head or wave at me.  In my innocence, I felt important whenever this happened because I knew who she was and how important she was in Puerto Rico’s history.  I felt that being addressed by her, even from a distance, meant I wasn’t insignificant.

Taken from the article linked before:

 The last year she was mayor, she didn’t have time to find the money for those Christmas gifts so she said to the manager of the toy store, “It’s going to keep on going, but I don’t have money to pay for it.  What I’m going to do is…. the house that I have on the beach –  that’s how I am going to pay for it.  You give the toys for the kids, and I’m going to give the house to you so that they can have their gifts.”

In this image she looks close to how I remember seeing her.

Doña Fela

As a curious note, my mom and I saw her days before she passed away and can testify to the fact that yes, she wore her elaborate wig until her death.  It was part of her.

Please check out last week’s contributions, they were pretty awesome:

ladyleemanila shared this very interesting shot full of movement. And teacups! 

Maggie shared a beautifully lighted shot that explores smooth as a texture.  She brings up the fact that smooth is the texture that is explored the less because we tend to “gloss over it”.  So true!

Klara is bringing her beach game to the texture pool.  Sorry for those of you buried in snow.

jesh shared a collection of images and a wonderful post full of art. 

Una Vista di San Ferno shared a piece of texture in a ceiling. 

Black Body shared a macro of an ant in a tree.  Tiny legs!

Land of Images shared an interesting shot of various things and textures.

Have a wonderful day and share a bit of it with me!

13 thoughts on “Tuesdays of Texture | Week 50 of 2015

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

