Dancing Mondays: Wilkins Edition

Every now and then I’m gonna have to share a song in Spanish (or maybe another language that I don’t even understand) because I listen to music in many languages, Spanish and English primarily.  I hope you give it a try even if you don’t understand the words because music transcends lyrics;  music is a feeling.  Music is sublime.  You don’t need knowledge to understand sublime.

This is one of those songs that I HAVE to share because of the mark it has left in me.

It has a lot to do with how much I admire it’s interpreter.  Wilkins is a very famous Puerto Rican singer who transformed our music industry by creating Romantic Rock.  He was the first interpreter in Latin America who incorporated a true rock sound to his profoundly romantic lyrics, bringing that mix to the stage where he threw guitars and writhed in floor while singing about the pains of his broken soul.

His performance of this song in particular changed my view of what a singer is when I was a child.  To this day I’m in awe of how he can transmit every single note of heartbreak.  The lyrics tell the story of an unrequited love for a woman without soul.

I heard him say in an interview this month about this song:

“I can’t not perform that song (in a concert) not because there’s going to be a standing ovation or because people are waiting for it, but because it is part of my essence and what I am as an artist.”

I whole-heartedly agree.

Have a rocking Monday full of energy and light.

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

