Empowering

For my I Remember series:

An empowering moment lived during my aikido practice.  Felt like a movie star.  Have a fun weekend!

de monte y mar

I had a cool moment today at practice.

I was paired with a new student (this was his second class) to practice my upcoming test.  This was, to some extent, not exactly productive for my test practice since I had to spend more time explaining things to him than practicing but; it’s always good to practice with someone new, precisely because THEY DON’T KNOW what you are going to do.  It’s a great way to see if you can really control your opponent, it brings you back to basics, you watch your details and go slow.  It’s a review, sort of.

So, the guy is all “I can’t throw you!” at first, refused to finish the techniques and so on.  I talked to him about the safety of knowing how to fall and doing my work as uke (the attacker).  When it was my turn to do the technique he…

View original post 452 more words

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

