Tuesdays of Texture | Week 15 of 2015

Every Tuesday I post a photo of a texture or the use of a texture and share a detail of my part of the world.  

I invite you to join in the fun of sharing an image of the textures around you by including a link to this post in your own post (you don’t have to make an exclusive Tuesdays of Texture post!).  You can also @ naramilee in twitter or instagram if you want to share an image from either platform. 

You can find an image you like during the week if you don’t have one today 🙂  


(Links to this post will automatically appear as ping backs.)

I’m exited about my texture this week because I had never seen this!  Do you know what this is?

Hint:  it’s used for cooking, it gives red color to stews.  It’s achiote for us and annatto for you!  And it has a very fun texture that sort of resembles rambutan.

Achiote detail.

When you open those up you find the tiny red seeds that are used in cooking, though I’m told women here used this as a lipstick a long time ago.  The flavor;  eek!

There were two awesome collaborations last week and you can check them out here:

ladyleemanila shared a collection of shots that left me wondering if they were real of amazingly simulated.  Loved the landscape!

I can not get over the way the terrain cracked in Klara’s shot.  And then there’s a butterfly right there in cool camouflage too!

I hope you have a happy day!   And a textured Tuesday!

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays of Texture | Week 15 of 2015

    • narami says:

      thank you for sharing your texture!

      annatto is used a lot over here in all stews and to give rice with chicken or beans color, but we use a processed product that usually looks like this

      it has individual portions of powder inside that we mix with our seasoning.

      Like

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

