I don’t even have a title for this. And that NEVER happens, that’s how crazy this is

I wrote this post December 26, 2007 about how I lost a ring that my grandparents gave to my mother when she was fifteen years old, and she then gave to me when I was fifteen.

I wrote that post six years ago. I hope you can see this coming because this is the type of thing that you want to stop strangers in the street and tell them about.

Last week we spent the weekend at my parent’s and I used a gym bag that I used to take to aikido classes back in the day, when I was young and could seat in seiza, something that hurts now if I just think about it. I could also reach down and touch my feet without bending my knees. I’m going to stop thinking about the athletic abilities I used to have now because my ageing, from that point of view, is not looking good.

Manfriend threw some change in one of the front pockets of the bag and I was emptying it when we came back when OUT CAME MY RING. I picked it up immediately and put it on (just like I said I would. See? I know myself). It still fits perfectly. Then I sat on the floor and cried.

It’s one of the few things I have that strongly remind me of my grandfather (not that I need something to remember him, I do that naturally, but there’s something about visual reminders) and I remember mourning the loss of the ring mostly because I felt like I had a piece of him and grandmother in my finger when I used it. The moment I put it on I felt that and the emotions came pouring out.

I had made peace with the fact that I would never see this object again, and that was good and healthy and I felt and still feel proud of myself for being able to do that when that’s what I needed, but I can not hide my joy that it’s back home.

 

It matches this pendant:

fifteen pendant

The Challenge in the Weekly Photo Challenge at g+ was macro this week and I used this photo.   I shot this in manual focus because it wouldn’t budge in automatic and I swear my camera got scared when I touched that button.  I felt it tremble, but it didn’t come out as bad as I thought it would.  Note to self:  the manual focus will not kill you.

I’m glad I got to take a “decent” photo of it (or twenty) because when I thought I lost it I was also bummed that not having a picture of it anywhere I could never re-make it.  Not that it’s going anywhere now, but you know, we get to put it in an album and stuff.

Cheers!

9 thoughts on “I don’t even have a title for this. And that NEVER happens, that’s how crazy this is

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

