Circles

My great-grandfather on my father’s father side had a little patch of terrain behind his house that he planted with corn. I remember los bueyes sowing the terrain and how perfectly the rows of plants grew.

He was always very sweet with us, very tender spoken, not by chance; he was a musician. He had a little candy store that he opened after school hours for the kids that walked that road and when we, the great-grandkids, visited he opened it for us and let us grab what we wanted. I felt really guilty about that and could never take more than two things.

I never ate that corn but I heard about how my grandmother cooked it, sweet and tender. A couple of weeks ago I was given freshly picked corn. Along with it, my friend gave me instructions to make a simple sauce to dip it. It’s only three ingredients and I’m sure there’s a hundred ways to improve it but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

– butter

– honey

– bit of salt

Melt the butter and stir in the honey (I used 50-50 because I love both honey and butter, you can make it lighter or heavier to taste) and the salt. I whipped it a bit to make it airy. Dip the corn in that (or completely cover it), I think it’s better when it marinates a bit. Eat and collapse from yumminess. I also cheated and used my warm leftovers of sauce to dip pieces of fresh bread. I was about to go to sleep and it felt so … comforting. And that’s exactly what I felt when I listened to my great-grandfather.

2 thoughts on “Circles

  1. Russel Ray Photos says:

    I have always wondered why there is such a difference between fresh produce and store-bought produce. Maybe it’s because at home we pick it and eat it that same day or the next. The stuff in the store has to be picked days, weeks, even months in advance of when we buy it. I don’t think Mother and Father Nature like that.

    Like

    • narami says:

      Preservatives and hormones spoil everything about the natural taste of things. When I read that the average expiration date of an apple is 14 months I declared them the vampires of the fresh produce section.
      I think everything home grown is better than anything bought in the store but only because I can see and taste the difference between the two.
      A good rule of thumb is to watch for things that are not over-size. Huge bananas, strawberries… etc. are not normal in nature. We see them like that in the store because they are saturated with hormones and pesticides which make them grow more than they should, so when you see small fruits and vegetables, those resemble what nature gives us. And of course, there’s always space to grow some things at home!

      Like

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

