Music for your ears. Literally.

It’s been a while since I’ve shared what music I’m listening to. Here is some love for your ears, and remember I love to hear your suggestions of what I should be listening to.

Boyfriend by Justin Bieber – Looking back on posts I found one where I wrote that I didn’t particularly liked Justin Bieber. Then this happened. All hail the queen of contradiction.

Lean on Me by Seal – I heard this in Dancing With the Stars (this season!! My gah!) and immediately bought it. It’s got a great soulful flavor and I find it particularly refreshing to hear the coral arrangement be a subtle part of the song instead of the punch.

Sunrise by Rascal Flatts – I intended to get Changed, which is the one I heard, but when I sampled the album, this was the song that stole my heart most.

The Rose by Bette Middler – this came on the radio a couple of weeks ago on my way home one of those morning when I was tired of being tired and longing for my bed and it was like oil on wounds. Soft and meaningful and her voice is so grand, it gave me a bit of strength to make it to my matress and collapse with satisfaction.

Ai Se Eu Te Pego by Michael Teló – This song began to sound in some radio stations here months ago and it finally took off last month. I believe that gave people some time to translate it and realize that it he was singing naughty things. The whole song is about how he was dancing in a disco (on a Saturday. I don’t know why this is relevant, but there), saw a pretty girl and said to her “oh, if I get you. Oh, oh! If I get you!” That’s the chorus. Puerto Ricans like naughty lyrics. We invented reggaeton. Anyway, I really like Teló’s voice, I wish he had better lyrics but what can we do.

Bust Your Windows by Jazmine Sullivan – Another one influenced by Dancing With the Stars. I can’t listen to this and not want to dance a tango. Not that I know how to dance a tango, but still.

Never Stop by Safetysuit – I like songs with little simple stories on the lyrics and this is exactly that. It’s romantic, but not overdone. I really like the percussion on this song too.

Run by Matt Nathanson ft. Sugarland – Now this is romantic and overdone, and I still like it. I liked how the song has no complicated flourishes, it’s just about two people loving each other and the musical arrangement is really nice. I’m a sucker for the slow, quiet melody that transforms with full blown rock power.

Concert for George, album by various – one day many months ago one of my coworkers was listening to this version of While My Guitar Gently Weeps, which is played by George Clapton with an assist from Paul McCartney and many other famous musicians but most importantly, Dhani Harrison plays. If you’ve never seen him playing, he is his father. It’s crazy.

Santa María del Buen Ayre by Gotan Project – just because it’s Gotan Project. I suggest you play it while you are cooking. I can’t be the only one that cooks while dancing.

One thought on “Music for your ears. Literally.

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

