The Canonet 28: A Photographic Experience

The test roll of the Canonet 28 is out.

And it’s nothing like I thought it would be.  IT’S WAY AWESOMER.

I mean, seriously, look at this photo:

I am amazed by how crisp and sharp the photos are.  I mean, I knew it was a very nice lens, but I guess I had to see it to believe it.  And the photos I thought I had overexposed are not nearly as bad as I thought they would be.  This is one of them.

Hiker, maybe you were right when you pointed out that overexposure is sometimes good with film.  You smarty.

The thing about the Canonet, that has nothing to do with the results is that, carrying that camera around, using it, is in fact an experience on it’s own.   There’s something about the weight it has, the way it fits in one’s hands, the smell (I can still smell it! I AM nuts!), the film crank, that makes it a joy.  Oh, and the looks it gets from people.  Well, people will look funny at anyone looking through a viewfinder, but this pretty gets double takes too.   By the way, I don’t know if I mentioned that I think I named her Isadora.

Framing through the viewfinder is a little tricky and I had to spend time on it if I wanted to make it perfect, but in all, shooting with this range finder is much easier than I thought it would be.  I have to remember that for the future because I kept playing it super safe so as to not get disappointed and there is so much more that can be done with this camera I barely begun discovering it.   It wasn’t until the end of the roll when I felt more aware of the opportunities I had, I need more time out with it to really get familiar with it’s advantages and, as you might assume, this camera is NOT the type of camera you just toss in your bag and take everywhere.

I’m a little obsessed  with it’s maintenance actually, and just the other day I was trying to find more of some little electronic cleaning wipe that the seal kit had that I LOVED and the guy at Radio Shack looked at me as if I had a third eye.  Vintage camera?  Whaa?

Let’s not forget that I sealed this camera all by myself and from the looks of it I DID IT RIGHT!  Man, that’s satisfying.

Set in Flickr.

5 thoughts on “The Canonet 28: A Photographic Experience

  1. geekhiker says:

    LOL – what did I tell you? Perfect exposures are overrated. 🙂

    Congrats on sealing the camera right! To be perfectly frank, after my days in film working with old camera magazines that had light-leaks everywhere, I rather enjoy not having to deal with that sort of thing anymore.

    So, are you going to join some sort of camera-club for those with older, manual cameras?

    Like

    • narami says:

      – I honestly thought that picture wouldn’t come out, period. What a surprise!

      – Thanks! I guess because this one if the time I’ve ever had to do such thing, I enjoyed it even and would gladly do it again (well, not that I want to need to, you know, the seals are suppose to last my lifetime). It was so easy, I doubted my work until the day I got those pictures back.

      – You mean like in the real world? (jajaja, this is the funny thing about the internet!) I wouldn’t know where to look for one, not to mention I doubt that there is such a group here… I saw a couple of groups in Flickr, but I don’t like Flickr groups. Yet.

      Like

  2. Inside the Mind of Isadora says:

    Oh, I am so chuckling … Narami.
    I have had the burden of being unique all of my life – IN SO MANY WAYS ….!!!!
    I used to feel odd or misplaced for so long – now – I accept that I am and realize that becuase I am unique I have the abilty to be one-of-a-kind. I am so glad that I am. I love the fact that you have used my name to something you treasure.
    Thank you … Hugs and Namaste ….
    Isadora

    Like

I like comments as much as I like naps. And I LOVE naps.

